Welcome to CBCA ACT

2022 Calendar


Laurie Copping Award nominations are now open

We are seeking nominations for the 2023 Laurie Copping Award. The Award will be presented at the 2023 AGM.

The Laurie Copping Award for Distinguished Service to Children’s Literature in the ACT is a biennial award of The Children’s Book Council of Australia ACT Branch, the accent being on Service. A recipient of the award, then, will have given service well beyond his or her professional association with children’s literature.  Past recipients include Rachel Hind, Rosemary Thomas, Stephanie Owen Reeder and Tania McCartney (click here to see past recipients).

Nominations close on 7th March 2023. 


Request books for children from your organisation

The Children's Book Council of Australia ACT Branch supply books for underprivileged children each year as a way for children in the region to have their very own book for Christmas. We acknowledge the many donations that we are dependent upon from the Capital Region Community.

If you are interested in children from your organisation receiving a book from the Children’s Book Council of Australia please complete the form (link below) by 17th November. Books are distributed by a first in, first serve basis, although we try to meet the requests of all organisations. Books will be available to your organisation after the 20th November.

If you would like further information before completing the request form, please contact Julie Long, president@cbcaact.org.au

Click on this link for the ACT Branch Christmas Book Appeal Request Form

20TH Anniversary diary of a wombat 20c coin now available

This beautifully designed coin is a glimpse into the life of a very busy wombat and is the second release in a collaboration between the Royal Australian Mint and the Children’s Book Council of Australia that celebrates the pleasure of reading.

Cheeky, hungry and sleepy, this clever wombat has humans wrapped around its little paw. This year, The Diary of a Wombat celebrates 20 years since it was first published.

Purchase here.

Members' Recent Books


 Established in 1945, the Children's Book Council of Australia (CBCA) is a not-for-profit, volunteer run organisation which aims to engage the community with literature for young Australians.

The CBCA presents annual awards to books of literary merit, for outstanding contribution to Australian children's literature.

In 2015, the CBCA celebrated 70 years of enjoying and promoting the best of Australian literature for children and young people.